CONTRACTORS STATE LICENSE BOARD



www.cslb.ca.gov | www.CheckTheLicenseFirst.com | www.SeniorScamStopper.com

September 18, 2020

CSLB #20-12

## Contractors State License Board Ready to Meet with North Complex Fire Survivors at New Butte County Local Assistance Center

Unlicensed contractors could face felony charge if caught contracting without license in disaster area

SACRAMENTO – As firefighters work to control the <u>North Complex Wildfire</u> in Butte County,
homeowners are beginning to survey the damage done to their homes and properties. According to Cal
Fire, more than 1,200 structures have been destroyed or damaged.

Starting Tuesday, September 22<sup>nd</sup>, the Contractors State License Board (<u>CSLB</u>) will join other state, local and federal agencies to staff a Local Assistance Center (LAC) for fire survivors. CSLB staff will provide educational information about post-disaster contracting laws to property owners who will be looking for contractors to repair or potentially rebuild their homes and other structures.

The LAC will be located at **Feather River Parks and Rec Gymnastics Academy, on 1875 Feather River Blvd. in Oroville**. The center is expected to be open Monday through Friday from 10am to 6pm and Saturday from 10am to 4pm.

Unfortunately, it is common for unlicensed or unscrupulous contractors to come into an area in the days and weeks following a disaster.

Butte County was declared a <u>federal disaster area</u> earlier this month which means unlicensed contractors face possible increased penalties from felony charges. (<u>Business and Professions Code (BPC)</u> <u>section 7028.16</u>). Contracting without a license in California is normally a criminal misdemeanor.

To help protect wildfire survivors, warning signs will also be posted through the burn zone. CSLB also will be working with partner agencies including the Butte County District Attorney's Office to conduct sweep operations targeting unlicensed operators. CSLB encourages fire survivors to visit our online <u>Disaster Help Center</u> for more information, materials, and a helpful <u>video</u> on how to hire a contractor and manage the rebuilding process.

CSLB's <u>website</u> also offers a "<u>Find My Licensed Contractor</u>" feature which allows you to search for a licensed contractor by city or zip code. Contractors are required by law to hold a CSLB license for all jobs over \$500.

The Contractors State License Board operates under the umbrella of the <u>California Department of</u> <u>Consumer Affairs</u>. CSLB licenses and regulates almost 290,000 contractors in California and is regarded as one of the leading consumer protection agencies in the United States. In fiscal year 2019-20, CSLB helped recover over \$58 million in ordered restitution for consumers.

You can follow <u>@CSLBnews</u> on Twitter to receive all official press releases from Contractors State License Board.

## **CSLB Media Contacts**

Rick Lopes Chief of Public Affairs 916.255.4161 / 916.947.8828 rick.lopes@cslb.ca.gov

Kevin Durawa Information Officer 916.255.4693 / 916.860.9431 kevin.durawa@cslb.ca.gov

Natalie Watmore Information Officer 916.255.3915 / 916.203.1240 natalie.watmore@cslb.ca.gov

###